The Magic of the Eighties

Why was it so special?

Sammy Naicker
3 min readApr 23, 2024

When I think back to the eighties, so many precious memories come to mind. Being a child in the eighties was a unique experience in every sense of the word. What made it so special though?

Well, when I think back, there were so many experiences and moments in life that I hold so very close to my heart.

Rushing back from school to sink my teeth into my mum’s delicious cooking was always something I will remember. After satisfying my stomach, playing outside until the sun went down was a norm. We did not have a huge yard; however, we made the best of everything we had.

Growing up, we never had lots of luxuries. We did not even have a car. However, we had all the love and attention from both our parents. This was a blessing indeed.

The feeling of gathering around the TV to watch our favorite cartoons and series is something that kids of today will never truly understand. Mainly due to the fact that the epic cartoons and series of the eighties are like nothing of today. From the theme music to the unique characters. Gummy Bears! The Knight Rider! The A Team! Macgyver and many others. It always kept us fully entertained. Ahh, and the theme music was melodies that have been ingrained in my head. Just watch below the opening videos of Gummy Bears and Knight Rider.

--

--

Sammy Naicker

Writer,Entrepreneur-focusing on Self Help,Entrepreneurship,Motivation,Health and Fitness. Catch me here : https://radiant-naickersam872.wordpress.com/contact/